ASAM Expo  

From 2011-2015, the Asian American Studies Program held an end of the year annual event that featured and celebrated the program and the accomplishments of its undergraduate students, including graduating minors. It showcased exhibits from Asian American Studies classes and key program initiatives like the Community Engagement Project. Recipients of the ASAM Expo Grants (funded by the AANAPISI Initiative), for critical and creative work, presented their research in a variety of forms and fields, from stop-motion animation to anthropological research, scientific experiments, children's health books, photography, and video.

Funded by the AANAPISI Initiative, the ASAM Undergraduate Research/Arts Grants Program offered competitive grants of up to $1000, which were designed to facilitate and encourage Asian American and Pacific Islander students to pursue independent research and/or creative-arts projects about and with Asian American and Pacific Islander communities. A total of up to ten grants were awarded per school year on a merit basis. Projects that have a Chicagoland and/or Midwest component were prioritized in order to encourage local and community-engaged work.

Awardees were supervised by a faculty mentor, and were required to demonstrate adequate progress to receive full funding. Awardees presented their completed projects at the annual ASAM Expo Event (in the Spring of the academic year the grant was awarded) to share their work with the broader UIC community.

Click on the links below to read more about the recipients and projects by year.


Frances Lauren Cedro
Yangfeifei Gao
Vidya Govind-Thomas
Anothai Kaewkaen
Bing Liu, Khanh Than, Youme Landowne, and Hai Nguyen Ly
Kenneth Onishi
Krupa Patel
Bhashit Shah
Edmar Viloria


Grace Hsueh
Asim Qureshi
Sutikshna Veeravalli
Wen Jun Norman Chen
Carla Navoa

Poster Presentations
Joyce Mariano, ASAM 210
Liz Thomson, Asian American Gender & Sexuality Diversity
Anna Guevarra, ASAM 290
Rooshey Hasnain, The ASAM Community Engagement Project (CEP) Student Task Force
Rooshey Hasnain, Group Research Projects, ADOPT’s Task Force, Chinatown Chambers of Commerce, and ASAM CEP (ASAM 290, PSY 396, DHD 593, Honor’s College Capstone)
Batchimeg Ganbaatar


John Capua
Donnie Chang and Kim Navoa
Lisa Han
Vicky Tai
Lisa Patel


Christian Alfaro and Yvonne Bermas
Yvonne Gail E. Bermas
Manylen Bunchean
Donnie Chang, Rachelle Johnson, and Kim Navoa
Norman Chen
Estella Huang
Claire Light
Henna Vohra


Phoenix Chen
Ibrahim Khan
Adrian Ledesma
Jonathan Lee
Donald Lei
Sarah Lomahan
Cristina Romagnolo
Naomi Leilani Salcedo
Tim Tang
Ada Tong
Sutikshna Veeravalli
Shoma Webster