Core Faculty

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address
Mark Chiang Associate Professor of Global Asian Studies and English Phone: (312) 413-0463
Office: 1020 UH
mchiang@uic.edu
Anna Guevarra Director and Associate Professor of Global Asian Studies
Phone: (312) 413-0004
Office: 1030 UH

guevarra@uic.edu
Michael Jin Assistant Professor of Global Asian Studies Phone: (312) 355-4605
Office: 1012 UH
mrjin@uic.edu
Radha Modi Global Asian Studies Postdoctoral Research Fellow Phone: (312) 413-3552
Office: 1022 UH
 rmodi@uic.edu
Nadine Naber Associate Professor of Gender & Women's Studies and Global Asian Studies Phone: (312) 355-0375
Office:  UH 1216
naber@uic.edu
Lorenzo Perillo Assistant Professor of Global Asian Studies   Phone:(312) 996-5091 
Office:  UH 1026
jeloperi@uic.edu 
Karen Su  Clinical Assistant Professor of Global Asian Studies and Project Director of UIC Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISI) Initiative  Phone: (312)996-8530
Office: 1024 UH
 karensu@uic.edu

Affiliated Faculty (with Courtesy Appointments)

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address
Catherine Becker  Assistant Professor, Art and Art History Phone: (312) 996-3337
Office: 106 JH, MC 036 
cathbeck@uic.edu
Diem-My Bui Clinical Assistant Professor, Communication Phone:(312) 996-3187
Office: 1148C BSB, MC 132
 dbui@uic.edu
Laura Hostetler Professor, History Phone: (312) 996-3141
Office: 1008 UH, MC 198
hostetle@uic.edu
Ronak Kapadia Assistant Professor of Gender and Women's Studies Phone: (312) 996-2715
Office: 1218 UH
ronak@uic.edu
Rama Mantena   Associate Professor of History Phone: (312) 996-3165
Office: 929 UH
rmantena@uic.edu
Mary Anne Mohanraj  Clinical Assistant Professor of English Phone:(312) 413-7593 
Office: 1915 UH
mohanraj@uic.edu
Gayatri Reddy  Associate Professor of Gender and Women's Studies and Anthropology Phone: (312) 413-5658
Office: 1226 UH
 gayatri@uic.edu
Xuehua Xiang  Associate Professor, Linguistics Phone: (312) 996-5588
Office: 1713 UH, MC 315
 xxiang@uic.edu

PROGRAM ASSOCIATES

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address
Sunil Agnani Associate Professor, English and History  Phone: (312) 413-2234
Office: 1919 UH
sagnani1@uic.edu
Tarini Bedi Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Phone: (312) 413-3583
Office: 3152D BSB 
tbedi@uic.edu
Mitch Hendrickson  Assistant Professor, Archaeology Phone: (312) 413-3584
Office: 2102 BSB, MC 027
mjhend@uic.edu
Helen Jun Associate Professor of English and African American Studies Phone: (312) 413-2223
Office: 1924 UH
junhelen@uic.edu
Laura Junker  Associate Professor, Anthropology  Phone: (312) 996-3116
Office: 2138-B BSB, MC 027 
ljunker@uic.edu
Corinne Kodama  Research Specialist, AANAPISI Grant  Office: 1051 UH, MC 231  ckodama@uic.edu
Mark Liechty  Associate Professor of History and Anthropology
(312) 413-3581
Office: 3110-D BSB, MC 027
liechty@uic.edu
Nasser Mufti
Assistant Professor, English Office: 1913 UH
nmufti@uic.edu
Sanjeev Vidyarthi Associate Professor, Urban Planning and Policy Program (312) 355-0309
Office: 217 CUPPAH, MC 348
svidy@uic.edu

Staff

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address
Elizabeth Andreas Graduate Assistant  Phone: (312)355-3448
Office: 1051 UH
eandre9@uic.edu
Mariana Reyes Office Aide  Office: 1016 UH  mreyes40@uic.edu 
Phone: (312) 413-3573
Office: 2102 BSB, MC 027
Phone: (312) 413-3573
Office: 2102 BSB, MC 027
Professor, History
Professor, History
(312) 996-3141
Office: 1008 UH, MC 198
(312) 996-3141
Office: 1008 UH, MC 198
(312) 996-3141
(312) 996-3141
(312) 996-3141
(312) 996-3141
(312) 996-3141
(312) 996-3141
(312) 996-3141
Assistant Professor, English
Assistant Professor, English
Assistant Professor, English

Phone: (312) 996-3165
Office: 929 UH
Phone: (312) 996-3165
Office: 929 UH
Phone: (312) 996-3165
Office: 929 UH
Assistant Professor, Art and Art History
Assistant Professor, Art and Art History